Meeting to be held on 26 July 2017

Electoral Division affected: None

# Constitution: Membership; Chair and Deputy Chair; and Terms of Reference of the Children's Services Scrutiny Committee

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Samantha Parker, 01772 538221, Legal and Democratic Services sam.parker@lancashire.gov.uk

# **Executive Summary**

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference of the Children's Services Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2017/18.

## Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. The appointment of County Councillors Andrea Kay and Nikki Hennessy as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2017/18 municipal year;
- the new Membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual ii. Meeting on 25 May 2017; and
- iii. the updated Terms of Reference of the Committee

## Background

Constitution and Membership of the Children's Services Scrutiny Committee i)

The Full Council, at its meeting on 25 May 2017, agreed that the Children's Services Scrutiny Committee shall comprise 12 County Councillors (on the basis of 7 Conservative, 4 Labour and 1 Liberal Democrat) and 5 non-voting co-opted members.

It was also agreed that County Councillor nominations to serve on the Committee should be submitted to the Director of Governance, Finance and Public Services by the respective Political Groups. Accordingly, the membership of the Committee, as



confirmed by the Political Group Secretaries and the Children's Partnership Boards is as follows:

# County Councillors (12):

I Brown	D Howarth
A Cheetham	A Kay
J Cooney	H Khan
L Cox	J Rear
A Gardiner	D Smith
N Hennessy	M Tomlinson

Non-Voting Co-Opted Members (5)

Children's Partnership Board – Hyndburn, Ribble Valley, Rossendale – Elaine Shinks Children's Partnership Board – Burnley, Pendle – Catherine Swift Children's Partnership Board – Fylde, Wyre, Lancashire North – Alison Taylor Children's Partnership Board – Chorley, South Ribble, West Lancs – Debbie Wilson Children's Partnership Board – Preston – TBC\*

(\*indicates that at the time the agenda was published, a nominee was yet to be confirmed by the Children's Partnership Board, Preston)

In addition, the Committee will continue to include a representative nominated by the Youth Council with full voting rights.

The Full Council also appointed County Councillors Andrea Kay and Nikki Hennessy as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2017/18 municipal year.

ii) Terms of Reference

New Terms of Reference for all the Scrutiny Committees were approved under the County Council's urgent business procedure on 20 June 2017 and are set out at Appendix A to this report for information. The Committee will note that paragraphs one to 10 on the first two pages of the appendix apply to all Scrutiny Committees, with the subsequent paragraphs under each sub-heading relating to each Committee.

## Consultations

N/A

## **Risk Management**

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

# Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Ext
Agenda and minutes of the meeting of Full Council	25 May 2017	Dave Gorman, Legal and Democratic Services 01772 534261
Constitutional Amendments		Chris Mather, Legal and Democratic Services 01772 533559
Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate		

N/A.